Electrostatics 2019 is organised by the Dielectrics & Electrostatics Group of the Institute of Physics and continues the International Conference series on Electrostatics, which takes place in the United Kingdom every four years. The conference will be held in the city of Manchester, the UK’s second city and birthplace of the industrial revolution.

In its 66-year history, the conference has been held at a number of venues, but this will be the first time in Manchester. In a way it is Electrostatics coming home. Two of the founders of what was then called the Static Electrification Group were scientists based in Manchester, Dr N Gibson and Dr PSH Henry.

For the first time, Electrostatics 2019 and Dielectrics 2019 will be co-located. The final session of Electrostatics 2019 will be combined with the first session of Dielectrics 2019 with papers that are relevant to both subject areas.

Organised by the Dielectrics & Electrostatics Group

Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline (extended):
    31 January 2019
  • Paper submission deadline:
    28 February 2019
  • Early registration deadline (extended):
    8 March 2019
  • Registration deadline:
    1 April 2019